Obaseki inaugurates Edo Boundary Committee

The Governor of Edo State, Mr Godwin Obaseki, on Wednesday inaugurated the Edo Boundary Committee with a charge to address intra and inter-local government boundary disputes in the state.

Obaseki said that the state would no longer allow boundary disputes to degenerate to conflicts that affect economic activities in the state.

He explained that despite his administration’s efforts to get the support of the National Boundary Commission to tackle intra and inter-state boundary disputes, “unfortunately we have not had the desired response and the matters are not treated with the required urgency.”

He said that the longer the disputes were left unresolved, the more lives and property would be lost, hence the need for the state to set up its own boundary committee in accordance with the National Boundary Committee Establishment Act of 2006.

“We have several boundary issues within communities in the state and between communities in several local governments. We had to intervene in a boundary dispute between a company we gave land for agricultural purpose and some members of some communities in our neighbouring state, who went to court to get a restraining order against the company.

“We want to be able to utilise our land asset without any issues,” Obaseki stressed.

The governor said the committee would also liaise with similar committees in neighbouring states with a view to working together to promote good intra-communal relationship.

The Deputy Governor of the state, Rt. Hon. Philip Shiabu, who is the Chairman of the Committee, thanked the governor for finding them worthy for the task, and assured that the committee would discharge its duties diligently.

Obaseki inaugurates Edo Boundary Committee
R-L: Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State; Edo State Deputy Governor and Chairman of the Edo State Boundary Committee, Rt. Hon.  Philip Shaibu; Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Prof. Yinka Omorogbe; Commissioner for Communication and Orientation, Rt. Hon. Paul Ohonbamu; Commissioner for Local Government and Community Affairs, Hon. Jimoh Ijegbai; and The Iyase of Benin, Chief Sam Igbe during the inauguration of the Boundary Committee, at the Government House in Benin City, on Wednesday, October 25, 2017.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.