download 2024 Budget SpeechThe Trailblazer Governor

NDLEA boss, Marwa, 20 Governors' wives, others to headline BOWFT ‘Say No to Drugs’ seminar tomorrow

13 Sep 2022


The Chairman/Chief Executive Officer of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) and wives of 20 governors across the country are among guests expected at the ‘Say No to Drugs’ lecture/seminar, taking place tomorrow, Thursday, September 15, 2022, in Benin City, the Edo State capital.

The seminar/lecture is part of activities for the ongoing Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament (BOWFT), holding in the state’s capital between September 7, 2022 and September 17, 2022.

The seminar will take place at Edo Hotel Marquee, Okada Avenue, G.R.A Benin City by 2pm.

Marwa is the keynote speaker, while the governor’s wives will be led to the all-important event by the Chairperson of the Nigerian Governors' Wives Forum, Her Excellency, Erelu Bisi Fayemi.

 A paper titled, “Drugs in Sports,” will be presented by Professor of Sports Medicine, Prof. Ken Anugweje, who is the Chairman, National Anti-Doping Committee and Director, University of Port Harcourt Sports Institute, Rivers State.

Others expected at the event are the EU Ambassador to Nigeria and ECOWAS, Ambassador Samuela Isopi; UN Women Representative to Nigeria and ECOWAS, Ms. Beatrice Eyong; the Representative, UNODC Country Office, Oliver Stolpe; Executive Chairman, Edo Sports Commission & Commonwealth Long Jump Record Holder & Chairman, Organizing Committee of BOWFT, Mr. Yussuf Alli OLY, and the Former Executive Chairman Lagos State Sports Commission and Consultant on Sports to Edo State, Dr. Kweku Adedayo Tandoh, among others.

The tournament in its second edition is aimed at checking social vices among the girl-child, with this year’s edition focused on raising awareness on the adverse effects of drug abuse among youths.

Thirteen (13) teams are participating in the 10-day pre-season tournament which has been ranked as the best in Africa. The teams include Edo Queens FC, FC Robo, Royaltoms FC, Confluence FC, Osun Babes FC, Bravehearts Ladies FC, Rivers Queens, Naija Ratels FC, Delta Queens FC, Nasarawa Amazons, Royal Queens FC, Fortress Ladies FC and Heartland Queens.

Read More News