download 2024 Budget SpeechThe Trailblazer Governor

Edo Queens crowned champions of third edition of BOWFT

31 Oct 2023

Image Bayelsa Queens 4:3 on penalty after regulation time draw

Edo Queen Football Club of Benin has defeated Bayelsa Queens by four goals to three on penalty shootout after one all draw after regulation time at the final of the third edition of the Betsy Obaseki Women Football Tournament (BOWFT) at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City.

Performing the ceremonial kick at the final, the First Lady of Edo State, Her Excellency, Betsy Obaseki, who expressed satisfaction on the success recorded so far in the tournament, said this year’s edition has the highest number of First Ladies watching the final game at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium.

She noted that this year’s tournament focused on addressing Gender-Based Violence in the country through football. She added that every year, the tournament seeks to fight against social vices ravaging the society.

“Every year, we seek to fight against different social vices in the society and so far, we have made tremendous success in the fight.

“We thanked everyone that has travelled from around the country to Edo State to watch the tournament. This year, we have the largest number of first ladies watching the final, we are really grateful.”

Per the match, Bayelsa Queens took the lead in the 12th minute while Edo Queens equalized 40 minutes into the first half of the game. In the second half of the game, Suliat Abideen lost a penalty at added time, pushing the game into a penalty which Edo Queens won 4 goals to 3.

The best coach of the tournament went to coach of Edo Queen Moses Asuku, while Suliat Abideen won the Most Valuable Player (MVP) of the tournament. Robo FC player, Folashade Damilusi, won the Golden Boot award with 6 goals. The best goal keeper of the tournament went to Bayelsa Queens goalkeeper Oniyan Okeke.

Read More News